LOTS-O-LINKS

This page contains many links to other websites which were passed on to me by friends and acquaintances along the way; I have not visited all of them myself (that could take a rather long time...), so if you come across any links that are broken or contain offensive material, please contact me so I can correct the situation. Also, if you have any to share that are not already listed and you think they are interesting, feel free to pass them on and I will be glad to post them. Thank you and enjoy!

P.S. (which means "Post Script" I believe)...

I started this entire website back in 1988 for fun and as a hobby - I am NO professional web developer, just a rookie who likes to play around with HTML code. I don't get the chance to get on here and update as often as I NEED to or that I would like, but life sometimes has a way of keeping one busy - like working and paying bills and Doctors... LOTS of Doctors. So, my health isn't as good as it once was either. I will try to honor your requests to post your sites and ideas as long as my ancient Microsoft FrontPage 2003 will let me; my thanks to iPowerWeb for allowing some of us old-timers to use these dinosaurs of webpage editors (NO Thanks to Microsoft for changing stuff so often you can't afford to keep up)  ;( 
CoffeeCup offers some fairly inexpensive software for doing this, but I'm spoiled on the ease of FrontPage and the things it can do that I can understand... maybe someday I'll get something more up-to-date and re-design this site, but until then, well... you're just stuck with this! Happy browsing!

INFORMATION SHARING (Search Engines)

BING  http://www.bing.com
Google (Google is Awesome) - discover what it can do for you!  https://www.google.com/#gws_rd=ssl
Hotbot  http://www.Hotbot.com
Infoseek (now known as Go.com)  http://www.go.com/
Lycos  http://www.Lycos.com
Netscape (AOL-Netscape)  http://www.Netscape.com
Opentext  http://www.Opentext.com
WebCrawler  http://www.Webcrawler.com

COLLEGE PREPARATION:

College Atlas http://www.collegeatlas.org/
College Board Online http://www.collegeboard.org
 
Comparing Schools http://www.collegeview.com
   
S.A.T./G.R.E./Tests http://www.petersons.com
   

 

COOL WEB SITES:

Techno-Rich-Fun http://www.cnet.com
For News Junkies http://www.pointcast.com
Nifty Ideas on Anything http://www.learn2.com
Stats, Scores, Stories http://espn.go.com/
Amusing Stock Ideas (The Motley Fool) http://www.fool.com
Move Over Jeopardy http://www.berzerk.com
Nearly Free Software http://www.shareware.com

INCREDIBLY USEFUL SITES:

Expert Advice on Home Improvement http://www.dannylipford.com
Better Homes & Gardens http://www.bhg.com/
Homesick Gourmet http://www.homesickgourmet.com
Martha Stewart http://www.marthastewart.com
Ticketmaster Online http://www.ticketmaster.com
Betty Crocker's Recipes http://www.bettycrocker.com
Birder Home Page http://www.birder.com
Gifts http://www.giftinabasket.com
Restaurant Surveys http://www.zagat.com
New Stuff, Dirt Cheap http://www.andysgarage.com
Avoid Food Poisoning http://www.foodsafety.org

REFERENCE AND RESEARCH:

Kennedy Space Center http://www.nasa.gov/centers/kennedy/home/index.html
NASA Home Page http://www.nasa.gov/
Intelligence Resources http://www.fas.org/irp
Windows to the Universe http://www.windows2universe.org/
Research It http://www.iTools.com/research-it
UFO Black Vault http://www.blackvault.com/
Webster's Dictionary http://www.m-w.com
Old Farmers Almanac http://www.almanac.com
Whole Earth Catalog online http://www.wholeearth.com/index.php
Britannica Online http://www.britannica.com/
National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com
Better Business Bureau http://www.bbb.org/online/
Internal Revenue Service http://www.irs.ustreas.gov
The Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/
UFO's and Strange Info http://www.sightings.com
Smithsonian Institution http://www.si.edu
Information Please http://www.infoplease.com
Consumers Digest http://www.consumersdigest.com
Park Locator by LL Bean http://www.llbean.com/parksearch
Who Called Us (for those pesky folks that call . . .) http://whocalled.us/

AUTOMOBILE PRICING:

Auto-By-Tel http://www.autobytel.com
Autovantage http://www.autovantage.com/
Carpoint http://www.carpoint.msn.com
Carsmart http://www.carsmart.com
Edmonds http://www.edmund.com
Kelly Blue Book http://www.kbb.com
   
TRUECar http://www.truecar.com

MAPS AND DRIVING:

Best Scenic Drives http://www.byways.org
Speedtraps http://www.nashville.net/speedtrap
Wacky Side Trips http://www.roadsideamerica.com
Best Greasy Spoon http://www.astro.princeton.edu/~goldberg/
Disney's Animal Kingdom® Park Disney's Animal Kingdom Park
http://www.mapsonus.com
http://www.mapquest.com
http://www.mapblast.com
Google Earth https://earth.google.com
Terra Server http://www.terraserver.com/

WEATHER:

Satellite Pictures of U.S. http://www.goes.noaa.gov
http://www.weather.com
Hurricane Websites http://www.gulftel.com/~bclc/hurricanes.htm 
Stormtracker Net http://www.stormtracker.net 
JHU APL Hurricane Tracking Maps http://fermi.jhuapl.edu/hurr/ 
Weather for Active Lives http://www.intellicast.com 
Crown Weather Services crownweather.com/index.php/tropical/atlantic-tropical-weather-page/ 

PEOPLE LOCATOR----YELLOW PAGES INFORMATION:

Bigfoot Directory http://www.bigfoot.com

ADVANCED:

Hotmail http://www.hotmail.com
Look Up a Person http://www.theultimates.com
People Search http://www.whowhere.com
Switchboard.com http://www.switcboard.com
Anywho.com http://www.anywho.com
CallerSmart.com  (added 9/7/2016 ... thanks Debbie!) https://www.callersmart.com

CARDS OF ALL TYPES:

x www.flashgreetingscards.com
http://www.marlo.com
http://www.cardcentral.net
http://www.greetingsonline.com
MessageMates.Com http://stuart.messagemates.com/index.html
http://www.mypostcards.com
http://www.hallmark.com
Greetings http://www.egreetings.com
Absolutely Amazing Greeting Cards http://microimg.com/postcards/lake/lakerack.html
Blue Mountain Arts http://www.bluemountain.com
Care-Mail http://www.care-mail.com
AngelEyes Card Shoppe http://www.geocities.com/Wellesley/Gazebo/2652/card.html
Dixie Rose Greeting Cards http://www.jaycards.com/dixierose600.html
Free 3-D Animated Greetings http://www.3dgreetings.com/default.asp
123 Greetings http://www.123greetings.com
MichaelAngel's Card Shop http://www.mklangl.com/cards.html
Romance 101 http://www.rom101.com/lovetest.htm
Ynot.com http://www.ynot.com

FREEBIES AND AUCTIONS:

Auction Web Site http://www.ebay.com
All Kinds of Free Stuff http://www.thefreesite.com
Game Demos http://www.dailydemo.com
http://www.webauction.com
http://www.webstakes.com
Games http://www.gamecenter.com

FLIGHTS-AIRLINE TRAVEL:

http://www.flifo.com
http://www.travelocity.com
http://www.bestfares.com
http://www.previewtravel.com
http://www.biztravel.com
http://www.flymetrojet.com
Flights and Trip Savings http://www.travelzoo.com
Ticket Auction http://www.priceline.com
Check Before Leaving Home http://www.henricson.se/mats/upl

JOB HUNTING:

http://www.monsterboard.com
http://www.headhunter.net
Government Jobs Anywhere http://www.ajb.dni.us/
http://www.coolworks.com
http://www.careers.org/
http://www.newspapers.com
Job Hunting USA Job Search 
Research Employers http://www.hoovers.com
Indeed www.indeed.com

GENEALOGY:

Ancestry.com www.ancestry.com
http://www.cindislist.com
http://www.census.gov/genealogy/www/
http://www.saintclair.org/paf/
National General Site http://www.ngsgenealogy.org

MEDICAL INFORMATION:

American Heart Association www.heart.org 
Columbia Education http://cpmcnet.columbia.edu/research/
Mayo Clinic http://www.mayohealth.org
American Medical Assc. http://www.ama-assn.org
BH&G Cold & Flu Guide http://www.bhglive.com/health/coldflu.html
http://www.bewell.com
http://www.intelihealth.com
Medical Search http://www.medscape.com
Drug Index http://www.rxlist.com
Medscape http://promini.medscape.com/drugdb/search.asp
Clinical Pharmacology Online http://cp.gsm.com/ 
Web MD http://www.webmd.com 

SENIOR SITES:

Elderly Health Clinic http://www.wellweb.com/
Medicare http://www.seniorlaw.com/
Healthily Living, Love & Finances http://www.thirdage.com
Mortgage Guide for senior citizens http://www.refinancemortgagerates.org/mortgage-guide-for-senior-citizens/
Resources for Computer Training http://www.seniornet.org

JOKES:

Political Humor http://www.theonion.com
http://www.laugh-of-the-day.com
Country Humor http://www.countryhumor.com 

Miscellaneous

Easter Seals West Alabama  (shameless plug - I work here ;) www.eswaweb.org
TCMR (The Church Music Report) http://www.tcmr.com
LISTEN TO LIVE POLICE SCANNER: http://www.policescanner.com/
CLASSMATES http://www.classmates.com
Dumb Laws http://www.dumblaws.com/index.html 
Scribd http://www.scribd.com/
Spam Information http://www.cauce.org 

STOCKS AND MUTUAL FUNDS INVESTING:

http://www.pathfinder.com/fortune
http://www.goodmoney.com
Co-Op America http://www.coopamerica.org
EE Bonds http://www.savingsbonds.gov
U.S. Treas. Securities http://www.Bonds-online.com
Stock Market News http://www.thestreet.com
Kiplinger http://www.kiplinger.com

GARDENING:

Problem Solving & Ortho http://www.gardening.com
Virtual Garden http://www.vg.com
Earl The Yardcare Answer Guy http://www.yardcare.com
The Armchair Gardener http://www.armchairgardener.com/
Kids Gardening http://www.kidsgardening.org
Vegetable Gardening for Dummies - a Novice's Guide http://redshed.co.uk/blog/vegetable-gardening/
Flower Delivery Flowers http://www.flower-delivery-flowers.com/ 
Kid's Gardening Tips (by Home Advisor)  {Thanks, Nancy & Kendal} http://www.homeadvisor.com/r/gardening-at-home-with-kids/#.V9C7T_krK00

STORYBOOKS....WEB SITES FOR KIDS:

Aesop's Fables Online http://www.imagitek.com/aesop/
The White House http://www.whitehouse.gov/WH/kids/html/home.html
Joseph Wu's Origami http://www.origami.vancouver.bc.ca/
http://www.yahooligans.com
http://www.bess.com
Kids Hangout http://www.disney.com

SOCIAL NETWORKING SITES:

ArmedZilla (for Military folks) http://www.armedzilla.com
ClassMates http://www.classmates.com
Facebook http://www.facebook.com
MySpace http://www.myspace.com
   
   
   
OK, I'm not going to try to re-invent the wheel here . . . <WOW> I never KNEW there were so many social websites! To see a bunch of them - click on this link to Wikipedia (not all-inclusive, but you'll not miss many!)

Weight Loss & Support SITES:

MyFitnessPal www.myfitnesspal.com/
NutriSystem www.nutrisystem.com
Jenny Craig Official Site www.jennycraig.com/
Free Weight Loss Program - sparkpeople.com www.sparkpeople.com
   
   
   

[ Back to Main Page ]  [ Back to Top ]

Page last updated on Wednesday, May 13th, 2015